Testimonials

Some of the Reviews we have received

Below are some of the kind words we have received. You can find further recent reviews on Upfront Reviews by clicking on the logo below;

The Manor House

"We had a full house and everyone was amazed by the manor. We loved the history, the furniture, the little touches everywhere reminding us of the past. We were warm and cosy in this vast house, which is no mean feast on a cold February weekend. Our host was attentive, friendly and a mine of information." 4th March 2023

"Our family of 21 had a glorious time at Cadhay, for the second time, lots of space for little groups to play games, strum on the piano, eat together, a brilliantly equipped kitchen, lovely garden and a really interesting 'museum'. Everyone, from the seven-year old upwards, appreciated the beautiful and precious furniture, antique and modern. We are saving up to come again. The health and safety measures are well thought out and everyone was safe and happy. " 22nd March 2023

"This was our thirteenth stay at Cadhay, which I think illustrates very effectively how much we like it. It is a grand and beautiful house and it feels like a privilege to stay there, but it is also cosy and comfortable. The house is always scrupulously clean and beautifully presented, and the owner and manager are helpful and attentive. We have always stayed in winter, and it is a great house for a cold-weather holiday as we stoke up the log burning stoves and enjoy having lots of indoor space for people to spread out. We have booked again for next year ..." 26th Feb 2023

"Our family party of 18, consisting of relations aged from six to 87 enjoyed a week of wall-to-wall sunshine in a luxuriously equipped 1550 house, brought fully up to date with every modern convenience. Everything, food, comfort, ambience, landscape, design and surroundings were absolutely perfect. The result was a wholly enjoyable week of complete pleasure, thanks to the staff, visible and invisible and the wonderful ever-shining sun." 14th August 2022

"It is a privilege to stay at Cadhay and we will definitely return. It was our second trip with a group of families with children and it is such a perfect location. The gardens were, as usual, sublime. You can hide away if you want a bit of peace and quiet, play croquet or relax watching the reflections in the fish ponds. The house has been improved year on year and has been modernised whilst respecting the deep history of the building. The Court of the Sovereigns is a stunning space and we spent a lot of time there for coffee, crosswords or dinner. In the evenings it was fun to light a fire in the Living Hall and have a mass participation game before disappearing off to our comfortable beds. Cadhay is well placed for several beaches and we spent some great days at Sidmouth, Branscombe and Lyme Regis." 7th August 2022

"Best Holiday ever! We all had a brilliant stay at Cadhay. From playing croquet and cricket with the children on the lawn to exploring nearby beaches, it made for a magical holiday that has created memories that will last a lifetime. Beautiful gardens, stunning views and perfect accommodation for our large group of family and friends...best holiday ever! " 24th April 2022

Weddings and Occasions

We hired Cadhay for our wedding reception and turned our big day into a big weekend. The gardens were absolutely stunning and we were showered with compliments by our guests. (Which we later passed on to the gardeners). We filled all rooms including all the cottages and there was still plenty of space for everyone to find a quiet corner throughout the grounds. All staff at Cadhay are passionate about the house and it shows. I can fully recommend Cadhay for anyone planning their special day. 10/10." June 2023

Cadhay House and gardens provided the most magical setting for our daughter’s wedding weekend. The house guests were amazed when they were shown to their beautiful bedrooms on Friday evening and enjoyed relaxing in the lounges as, although it is the most beautiful Tudor Manor House, it has a lovely homely feeling.
We were lucky enough to have sunny weather all weekend, so we used the lawn for the ceremony with the guests looking towards the stunning lake and the Apple Store looked really pretty when it was set up for the wedding breakfast.
The house guests enjoyed the use of the BBQ on Sunday and we had a memorable alfresco meal on Sunday evening which we set up in the enclosed garden by the kitchen area. Jayne was so helpful from the moment we first visited until the end of the wedding weekend. Communication was excellent, she responded immediately to any questions we had and the information provided was comprehensive.
Cadhay House is a perfect venue for a wedding, lots of the guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to and I can’t imagine how it could have been any better. I would recommend it without hesitation." 27th May 2023

We have previously taken our family - up to 22 of them - to Cadhay for two 80th birthday occasions. They were both wonderful and, this spring, we did not trouble to look for any other venue for the celebrations to mark our 60th Wedding Anniversary.
The house and its setting is magnificent, the bedrooms are attractively individual and the reception rooms are ideal for entertaining in style. The garden is large and the different "rooms" in it are delightful.
Jayne could not have been more efficient in making the booking process easy and answering any and all enquiries. On our arrival Rupert was there to welcome us and, instantly, we felt that we were coming home for another memorable family occasion - and so it proved. If you want to have a really, really special holiday which will be remembered for years by all those lucky enough to have been there, don't mess about searching for venues: just get on the internet and book Cadhay. You will not be disappointed." 21st April 2023

I booked Cadhay for an 80th birthday celebration. The accommodation in the house is lovely with each room having either it's own ensuite, or a dedicated bathroom next door. Everyone was so impressed with the facilities. We hired in a caterer on the Saturday evening and had 22 people seated in the splendid Georgian dining room. It made for a most memorable evening. The house is so well appointed, the kitchen has plenty of fridge and freezer space with two dishwashers. A beautiful house in a gorgeous setting. We will definitely be returning." 12th August 2022

Perfect wedding location. The house, the grounds and the rest of the buildings were so lovely. We really did have the best weekend of our lives, it was like a dream. The owner and support staff were all so helpful and fixed any issues really fast. Highly recommended." 28th May 2022

The Coach House

The Coach House is light and airy and very well maintained and presented. It has everything you need for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The grounds are beautiful and the house looks directly onto the lovely main drive.
It is also a great location for exploring with some great walks and beaches nearby. Highly recommended." 17 June 2023

We’ve been to both Cadhay Coach House and The Stables several times since 2014 and it has always been a very enjoyable experience. The gardens are kept beautifully by Dave and his team and provide a peaceful holiday environment. The house itself is extremely comfortable and roomy and many essential items are provided. There are some lovely walks in the area including to the nearby village of Ottery St Mary. Ottery has all the necessary local shops including a supermarket, butcher, baker, cafe and deli. A great place for a holiday." 21st May 2023

Another fantastic week in Devon, in beautiful surroundings with superbly maintained gardens. The house is very comfortable, a real fire and plenty of space with pretty walks on the doorstep, a nearby town with great restaurants, pubs, cafes, shops and farm shops. The beautiful coast is in striking distance and just waiting to be explored. Can't wait to go again." 19th Feb 2023

This is the second time we have stayed at one of the cottages at Cadhay House and it was just as comfortable as the first. We live in Australia and we have found it a perfect spot to visit our family who live nearby. Everything is spotlessly clean, well equipped and scores high on the very important comfortable bed and pillows factor. We loved it as a place for our family to be together in what felt like a home. The fire was made up as we arrived and ready to light, and it was nice to have the decorated Christmas tree as we didn’t arrive from our travels until late on Christmas Eve. Would definitely recommend for others looking for comfort, peace, a quiet rural location yet is still accessible to other places to visit." 8th January 2023

The coach house was perfect in every way. The setting is beautiful and the house was spotless and so well equipped. We were lucky enough to have a week of sunshine but I imagine it would be just as perfect to stay here whatever the weather. Rupert and Jayne were so welcoming and friendly as were other locals we spoke to whilst they tended to their allotments. We will definitely be returning to Cadhay and the coach house." 14th August 2022

The Stables

Visited on three occasions and have always found the property to be comfortable and cleaned to a high standard. The kitchen door leads out into the allotment area of the walled garden which is a highly relaxing view, thanks to the gardening expertise and work of the two gardeners. The manor house and gardens are worthwhile visiting on Fridays. "21st May 2023

We had a wonderful stay. A gorgeous location, excellent communication & a lovely cottage. Thanks so much! "4th May 2023

We had a lovely stay in the stables at Cadhay House. The accommodation was spacious, clean and good value for money. We would happily book to come back again. "19th April 2023

Everything at Cadhay is great, and our stay at The Stables could not have been better. The rooms, facilities and cleanliness were exceptional - all this surrounded by a beautiful garden, close to Ottery St Mary and half an hour from Exeter or the sea. Thanks to the owners and their staff." 25th June 2022

We had an excellent stay as a family of 5 with 2 small children. The property is much larger than expected from the photos and has lovely antique furniture pieces. Cadhay house, it’s grounds and gardens are beautiful. Great to go on guided tour of Cadhay house and to explore the gardens. Jayne the manager and Rupert the owner were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and would love to return. "11th June 2022

A Sanctuary. One of the most pleasurable places to stay. Part of a small country estate the cottage is overlooking the walled garden area so there is always gardening activity throughout the seasons. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and clean. The gardeners and staff who work daily are extremely helpful.." 15th May 2022

The Cider Press

A perfectly relaxing break at Cadhay, self-catering but all essentials provided, a comfortable countryside retreat. The Cider Press is set in the grounds of the Cadhay Estate with access to some interesting countryside walks, and when wishing to explore further afield is in an ideal location for travel to the coast or other areas of interest in Devon." 2nd June 2023

Our sixth visit says it all really! Cadhay is peaceful, clean, near enough to stuff to be convenient, yet away enough to be tranquil. Back again in September, can’t wait." 14th May 2023

Comfortable, well equipped, cosy. We enjoyed our stay very much. Pleasant walks nearby and stunning scenery and walks along the coast." 27th Mar 2023

We enjoyed our stay at the Cider Press during a bracingly cold week in January. The supply of wood and the wood burning stove made it a welcoming cosy place to chill out after some lovely country walks with our Labrador .Its proximity to Sidmouth made it a special place to stay. Everyone from Cadhay made one feel very welcome. I would recommend the Cider Press to anyone who want to get away from urban life." 24th Jan 2023

A very happy stay. An immaculate and well- equipped dog-friendly property with heaps of useful information provided in advance. Rupert, the owner, was welcoming, friendly and interesting. We would happily stay again if the opportunity arose." 28th April 2022

So good we returned for more! Our second visit to this property. Still immaculately presented and equipped. Still peaceful, yet ideally situated for visiting south and east Devon. Still with that beautiful early morning view of the sun rising over Cadhay House, the sheep in the fields, and the hills beyond! " 18th April 2022

[justified_image_grid ids=993,992,991,990,997,996,994,1252,1000,999,998,559 row_height=300 mobile_row_height=200px caption=off last_row=hide]