Testimonials

Some of the Reviews we have received

Below are some of the kind words we have received. You can find further recent reviews on Upfront Reviews by clicking on the logo below;



The Manor House



"Best Holiday ever! We all had a brilliant stay at Cadhay. From playing croquet and cricket with the children on the lawn to exploring nearby beaches, it made for a magical holiday that has created memories that will last a lifetime. Beautiful gardens, stunning views and perfect accommodation for our large group of family and friends...best holiday ever! " 24th April 2022

"A wonderful house. This was our eleventh stay at Cadhay, which is testament to how much we love it! It is a wonderful house - beautiful and historic, yet also comfortable and cosy - and it is always impeccably clean and welcoming. We would recommend it unreservedly." 22nd Feb 2022

"What a magical place for a family celebration. We have just been back to Cadhay for a weekend celebrating another 80th birthday with all our family. It is a magical place to stay, plenty of space for everyone. Each room has its own special atmosphere. Grandchildren love the stylish bedrooms. The welcome is warm, the grounds are lovely. All the family want to go back again. It is their No.1 choice from all the places they have ever stayed." 18th Dec 2021

"Birthday weekend at Cadhay. This was our second trip to Cadhay . For a combined birthday weekend . There were 21 of us - the age range 1- 89 ! The pre preparation was as excellent as ever with lots of helpful contact from Jayne and her team . Rupert, the owner, greeted us on arrival for a very useful tour of the house. As charming and welcoming as ever. The whole weekend was superb. Brilliant accommodation with loads of bathrooms. Grand rooms through to attic bedrooms for the younger members. Log fires, stunning dining room and plenty of atmosphere. Cadhay has everything you could need for a weekend. Coupled with a great location, brilliant team working on the estate and a welcoming owner who very much leaves you to it- but is there if needed. Thankyou Cadhay !" 1st Dec 2021

“We had a wonderful weekend at Cadhay. It is an absolutely lovely house - I could never have imagined that a 16th century manor house could be so warm and comfortable without losing any of the sense of its history. It was a perfect venue for our family gathering." November 2019

Weddings and Occasions

Perfect wedding location. The house, the grounds and the rest of the buildings were so lovely. We really did have the best weekend of our lives, it was like a dream. The owner and support staff were all so helpful and fixed any issues really fast. Highly recommended." 28th May 2022

Amazing Venue, beautiful house. We had a wonderful experience celebrating our wedding at Cadhay. The house and grounds are beautiful and we really enjoyed having the house for the weekend. Cadhay was perfect for us in that it had space for both the ceremony and the reception within its grounds. Our guests really enjoyed attending the ceremony by the Bothy, sitting outside the Old Apple Store socialising in the evening, exploring the beautiful gardens and playing croquet on Sunday.

The guests that stayed in Cadhay house felt that the house is very well provisioned, the dining rooms perfect for everyone to sit around the table. We are all really impressed that for such an old house, the kitchen and bathroom facilities are really modern and the rooms are all very spacious and comfortable. It felt like such a privilege to stay at such a historic house.

Many thanks to Rupert, Jayne and the team for their support in the run up to the wedding and over the weekend." 16th May 2022

Could not have asked for a better wedding location. We stayed here and had our wedding over a June weekend in 2021. From the moment we first visited and met Jayne we knew that not only was this the perfect wedding venue for us but that we would be well looked after and accommodated by Jayne, Rupert and their garden and house teams.

In spite of a pandemic, we were always welcomed and accommodated in our contact and visits. The house is fantastic and well suited to large gatherings, whatever their nature. Neither us nor our guests felt anything was missing from the house itself and, along with the grounds, provided a spacious and relaxed atmosphere. Throughout our time at Cadhay we felt like it was ours to use as we wished, never that we were intruding on someone else’s house! The house is well maintained and equipped and filled with some beautiful furniture and finishings, particularly those made by Rupert.

For our wedding itself, Jayne was invaluable for her knowledge and proactive approach to the ever changing and uncertain rules which we needed to adapt to and we will be forever grateful for the help of Rupert and herself.

We look forward to hopefully returning in future years and know that we will be given the same warm welcome."7th Aug 2021

The most magical autumn day at Cadhay to celebrate our wedding, it was perfect. Thank you to Rupert, Jayne and all the team at Cadhay for being so wonderfully kind and accommodating, it was everything we dreamed of and more.” October 2017

A truly wonderful and magical venue for our fantastic, emotional, fun-filled wedding.” September 2017

“Friends & family from South Africa, France, Poland and Australia travelled to spend the weekend with us. It has simply been the most perfect few days. We don’t want to leave – can we stay?” September 2017

“It is hard to put into words just how much we loved spending our wedding weekend at Cadhay with all our friends and family. The setting was perfect, better than we ever could have imagined. Thank you so much for all your help in making it happen, it really was our best day ever.”

“Cadhay has set the highest benchmark. What a fabulous way to start the decade with my family and friends” 50th Birthday celebration July 2017

“What can I say! We have had a weekend that none of us will ever forget. We have felt completely at home. We have filled the house with laughter, music and love and the house has given us more back.” 80th Birthday December 2016

The Coach House



A wonderful place to visit. Cadhay, located in Ottery St. Mary, Devon is a place of calm offering space to relax in beautiful surrounding and refresh your soul. The owner Rupert and Manager Jayne could not be more helpful and we also learned lots from the gardeners too. Close to Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton it is a great base for exploring Devon. As a family we have visited five times now. Give it a go!" 17th April 2022

A brilliant week in the Coach House. Absolutely love staying in the Coach House. I stay here as often as I can. The view down the beautiful drive from the full length windows in the living area keeps me going when I get home. The hosts are so helpful, even putting out the table and chairs outside for us as the weather was so good in March. Spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The greatest bonus is being able to take my dogs here with me on holiday. Many thanks to all at Cadhay for such a lovely time…again." 27th Mar 2022

A week on a country estate. We have visited the Cadhay Estate several times over the last few years and it is one of our favourite places to relax. The continued development of the gardens and the ambience of the whole estate is a wonderful experience which is why we return. The Coach House is spacious, well equipped and scrupulously clean. " 26th Sept 2021

Bliss. Coach house was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful. Grounds were simply amazing, and we just loved sitting out surrounded by beautiful flowerbeds, watching Robins and flycatchers and watching for Kingfishers on the Otter. Cannot recommend too highly. " 18th July 2021

The Stables



A Sanctuary. One of the most pleasurable places to stay. Part of a small country estate the cottage is overlooking the walled garden area so there is always gardening activity throughout the seasons. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and clean. The gardeners and staff who work daily are extremely helpful.." 15th May 2022

Beautifully and relaxing in highly comfortable accommodation. Our second visit to Cadhay; this time we brought our friends with us to stay in house next door, who loved it too. Everybody had a great time. The staff are wonderful and the accommodation is beautiful. Already planning our next visit." 25th April 2022

Cadhay Stables in December. A beautiful place to stay, couldn’t fault anything. Just the place to relax and enjoy, but well located for roaming this part of Devon and Dorset. Have already booked our return."
18th Dec 2021

Beautiful holiday location. We have stayed in Cadhay’s cottages many times. We have never been disappointed it's a beautiful location, the cottages have everything you need for a great holiday. Your photo does not do justice to the cottages with their walled garden and spectacular grounds."24th Oct 2021

Superb accommodation in idyllic location. Stables cottage is a most comfortable property set in the idyllic grounds of the exquisite Cadhay House . The cottage is beautifully furnished and well equipped. We experienced rather mixed weather during our stay, understandable at end of September but the heating and woodburner made it very cosy and it was a pleasure to relax and enjoy the gorgeous views from every window. We were warmly welcomed by both Jayne , the house manager, and Rupert, the owner, who were both keen to ensure we had everything we needed and to assure us they would be " on hand" should any problems arise. I would highly recommend Stables cottage to anyone who is looking for high quality accommodation in the most tranquil setting." 15th October 2021

Great location in beautiful Devon countryside. We had a wonderful week at The Stables, located in the beautiful grounds of Cadhay House. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious. It was great for a self-catering family of five and a good location for exploring Devon. During our stay we visited Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Exmouth and Branscombe as well as Otterton Mill and Wildwood Escot. With the countryside on our doorstep, we did a couple of walks from the cottage and walked into Ottery St Mary one evening for dinner. Our hosts welcomed us on arrival and were available if we had any issues (we didn't). Would definitely recommend. "
5th Oct 2021

The Cider Press



A very happy stay. An immaculate and well- equipped dog-friendly property with heaps of useful information provided in advance. Rupert, the owner, was welcoming, friendly and interesting. We would happily stay again if the opportunity arose." 28th April 2022

So good we returned for more! Our second visit to this property. Still immaculately presented and equipped. Still peaceful, yet ideally situated for visiting south and east Devon. Still with that beautiful early morning view of the sun rising over Cadhay House, the sheep in the fields, and the hills beyond! "
18th April 2022

Mid-October week in Devon. As always our stay at Cadhay the Cider Press was perfect. The weather had its moments, but the property and area were perfect. We WILL be back. House manager Jayne and owner Rupert are lovely, and nip by to see all is well a couple of times. Can’t recommend this place and area enough. "
31st Oct 2021

Lovely relaxing break. One of the best cottages we have stayed in. Ideal for a relaxing break in a beautiful location. The Cider Press was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed sitting on the patio in the sun with views of the Manor House and surrounding countryside and sheep in the field next to us." 13th Oct 2021

“In four decades of self catering holidays the Cider Press has to be the best property we’ve stayed at yet. Clean, comfortable, equipped with everything we could possibly need and with such a wonderful view over the Devon countryside.” July 17